Monday, December 31, 2012

Film: The Exonerated

The Exonerated is a dramatic reading of transcripts and letters of six wrongfully convicted and imprisoned US citizens. Supplement this by reading Actual Innocence by Barry Scheck, Peter Neufeld & Jim Dwyer and this article at The Nation magazine from June 18, 2012.

Recommendation: Imperial Cities of Morocco

Imperial Cities of Morocco by Mohomed Metalsi, Cecile Treal, Jean-Michel Ruiz is a wonderful collection of photographs of architectural landmarks in Fes, Marrakesh, Meknes and Rabat in Morocco. Introductory text accompanies the photos. If you are traveling to these places or simply like architecture, check this book out. If you're exhibiting something related to Morocco or screening the film Islamic Art: Mirror of the Invisible World, have this book for the public to thumb through. If you have an office with a waiting area, this would be a good book for that as well.
 Imperial Cities of Morocco

Friday, December 28, 2012

Journal for Kids: Discover

Arwa alerted her blog readers to an article she published in a journal for Muslim children. I'd appreciate any subscribers sharing their thoughts on the journal.

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

PBS's Need to Know Visits Clarkston, GA - Multiculturalism in the US South

I had reviewed a book about refugees in Clarkston, GA. Maria Hinojosa presented a Need to Know episode on the continued transition from a nearly one-hundred percent white town to a town where more than one-third of the residents are foreign-born.

Documentary Film: Brother Rob

I saw the documentary film Brother Bob, which covered Terry Jones's trial of the Quran, on the Documentary Channel.

Saturday, December 22, 2012

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Jaffa - The Orange's Clockwork

The basic subscription to Dish Network gives you viewer-supported LinkTV, which in my mind is the best channel available in the United States. In fact, I recommend giving to organizations like LinkTV over political candidates, since the real problem in the US politics is that, as Flavor Flav says, "ignorance is at an all time high."

A great example of content available on LinkTV is the documentary Jaffa - The Orange's Clockwork. Currently, it is available on-line. This documentary examines the myth of "making the desert bloom," which as a result of sophisticated Zionist propaganda over several decades, has been implanted in European-White Supremacist-Colonialist consciousness.

Saturday, December 08, 2012

Review: The Future of Life by E.O. Wilson

The Future of Life by E. O. Wilson. (on PaperbackSwap)
The Future of Life
I first heard about Edward Osborne ("E.O.") Wilson from a 2007 interview with Bill Moyers.

This is another of the books on science I've discussed. As I was listening to it, I wondered what humans fifty years from now, assuming humanity survives, will think about the humans who preferred acquiring consumer goods over preserving our planet's biodiversity? Or worse, the humans who were too busy killing each other, most assuredly for justifiable reasons, to notice that the planet was preparing to cull its most destructive species, home sapiens? Or even more unfathomable, large swaths of humanity spent all their time and effort worrying about which humans were indeed closer to God and immersed themselves in endless disputes over texts whose authors would be horrified that their works were cited as reasons for ego-assuaging religious one-upmanship.

Tuesday, December 04, 2012

The Death of an Imam


The Death of an Imam from Salah D. Hassan on Vimeo.
A short documentary film on the 2009 FBI shooting of Imam Luqman Ameen Abdullah in a Dearborn warehouse. The documentary was produced by faculty and students at Michigan State University.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Review: Muslims in America: Seven Centuries of History (1312-1998) by Amir Nashid Ali Muhammad

Amir Nashid Ali Muhammad. Muslims In America: Seven Centuries Of History, 1312 1998: Collections And Stories Of American Muslims Beltsville, Maryland: Amana Publications; 1998. 64 pp. Paperback.

The latest version of this book is 84 pages and published in 2001, but I have not read it.

Century by century, the author mentions names of Muslims in that part of the Americas which became the United States. It's a great antidote to the "Columbus" phenomenon of some immigrant Muslims who believe that they brought Islam to the United States when they landed at JFK. It's also a great antidote to the Islamophobes who think that Muslims should be expelled from the United States as if they were last week's cold virus.

The book's bibliography allows the reader to follow up on the tips the author brings to the reader. I hope to learn more about Amir:
In April 1789, an advertisement seeking the capture of a man named Armer (Amir) appeared in the Savannah Georgia Gazette. Armer was about twenty years old when he ran away from the plantation of Thomas Grave in Richmond County, Georgia.  (p. 14)
Richmond County is about 4 miles from my house.

I believe the author is involved with the International Museum of Muslim Cultures in Jackson, Mississippi.

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Support Hena Ashraf's New Film Small Delights

"Small Delights is a short fiction film about Aziza, who begins to understand that her love of music makes her quite different from those around her." Hena Ashraf, the director, is using Indiegogo to raise funds to support the project. Like the project on Facebook.



I've published several posts related to Hena Ashraf's work in the past.

Tuesday, November 06, 2012

T.J. Al-Alwani Library in Herndon, VA

The T.J. Al-Alwani Library is a department of the International Institute of Islamic Thought. It is now open for use for researchers, students, academics and the public. Read more

Saturday, November 03, 2012

Al-Mutannabi Street Coalition Deserves Your Support

There's a meaningful project I recommend that you support called al-Mutanabbi Street Coalition.

Film: Bilal's Stand

I really thought I had reviewed Bilal's Stand last year, but I see that I never actually posted it. I'm not going to try another review. Just see it. It's a good movie.

Upcoming Interview with Filmmaker Iman Zawahry

Iman Zawahry has directed the short films Tough Crowd and UnderCover. She's also available on Facebook. And, I'm hopeful that I will be able to conduct an interview with her! Submit any questions you want me to ask.

Update: Here's the interview.

Sunday, October 28, 2012

'Homeland,' Obama’s Show by Joseph Massad

I've probably watched one half of an episode of this show, but I thought I'd share this article by Joseph Massad, professor at Columbia University, and make sure people follow Glenn Greenwald on Twitter.

Joesph Massad writes articles for Electronic Intifada and al-Jazeera. His latest book is Desiring Arabs.
P.S.
P.P.S. Do Obama and Romney Live in Homeland? by Andrew O'Hehir

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Support Docudrama about Muslim Woman in US Army during World War II

Unity Productions Foundation is raising money for a a docudrama film project about "Noor Khan, a heroic Muslim woman of WWII. We need to raise $500,000 to complete the production budget."

Donate and/or organize a fundraiser. Contact Jawaad Abdul Rahman, Director of Development, by e-mail or at +1 (703) 582-3854.

Help Muslim Journeys Reach Your Local Library

This blog has long promoted Unity Productions Foundation (UPF). In its September 2012 newsletter, it asks its supporters to encourage their local libraries to apply for the American Library Association (ALA) Muslim Journeys Bookshelf and to offer their services as content experts (or recruit one!). The deadline to apply has been extended to October 25, 2012.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Young Adult novels feature Muslim female protagonists

Muslima Media Watch published Rebels By Accident: Telling Muslim Girls’ Stories in Young Adult Fiction. It highlights a recent trend in Young Adult novels to portray Muslim girls neither "as nameless victims nor some veiled, orientalist fantasy in need of saving."

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

iPad App - Muhammad Asad's Translation and Explanation of the Quran

Mohammad Asad's The Road to Mecca is a good read, and many friends recommend his translation and explanation of Quran. It is now available as an iPad application, and it is free during the last 10 days of Ramadan this year.

To Read: Torture and Impunity: The U.S. Doctrine of Coercive Interrogation by Alfred W. McCoy

Torture and Impunity: The U.S. Doctrine of Coercive Interrogation
Torture and Impunity: The U.S. Doctrine of Coercive Interrogation by Alfred W. McCoy. Alfred McCoy is a professor of history at University of Wisconsin - Madison. His History Department web page includes his CV and current courses. Professor McCoy writes regularly for TomDispatch. I heard about this book from an August 14, 2012 posting there, via Professor Juan Cole on Twitter.

Documentary: These Birds Walk - A Portrait of Poverty Relief in Pakistan

Promo from the movie website:
In Karachi, Pak­istan, a run­away boy’s life hangs on one crit­i­cal ques­tion: where is home? The streets, an orphan­age, or with the fam­ily he fled in the first place? Simul­ta­ne­ously heart-wrenching and life-affirming, THESE BIRDS WALK doc­u­ments the strug­gles of these way­ward street chil­dren and the samar­i­tans look­ing out for them in this ethe­real and inspi­ra­tional story of resilience.


You can read a review at PBS.org.

The movie also has a Facebook Page and a Twitter account.

Watch the movie on iTunes or Google Play.

You can follow the director Omar Mul­lick on Twit­ter and check out his website. You can follow the other director Bas­sam Tariq on Twitter and check out his website.

Also, check out my review of Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo. It's about poverty in Mumbai, India.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

"Xenophobic racists ... [have] compiled a MUST READ list."

Updated September 2, 2017 - Interview with Dr. Curtis Acosta, an early plaintiff in the lawsuit which ended in the overturning of this ban.
Look, the xenophobic racists over at Arizona has compiled a banned books MUST READ list. Take this time to read these books. There’s a reason they’re banning them. They’re trying to erase our culture.
The only book I've read off of this list is Bless Me Ultima, by Rudolfo Anaya. It was excellent.

Bless Me, Ultima

Updated July 24, 2016. Hear Tony Diaz (@LibreTraficante) & Roque Planas (@RoqPlanas) & Jose Gonzales, a teacher from Tuscon, talk about this issue.

Thursday, August 02, 2012

Kickstarter: Meow, Meow, Maulana: The Story of Muhammad

Support Alexis Lombard's project on Kickstarter.

"Deen Tight" - Documentary Film, Directed by Mustafa Davis

"DEEN TIGHT" is a documentary film :: directed by Mustafa Davis from Mustafa Davis on Vimeo.
Music, considered taboo practice by many traditional Muslims, has also become one of the most prominent methods for Muslims to share their faith internationally through Muslim Hip Hop. Read more ...

H/t  E-Baad-E News (Twitter)

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Islamic Art Galleries Reopen At The Metropolitan Museum of Art

If you are in New York City, check it out!

Recommendation: Time of White Horses by Ibrahim Nasrallah

Nasrallah, Ibrahim. Time of White Horses. Roberts, Nancy (translator). The American University in Cairo Press, 2012. Hardcover, 512 pp. ISBN 977416489X.

I have not read the book.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Looking forward to Musharraf Ali Farooqi's Rabbit Rap: A Twentieth Century Fable

I've previously reviewed a book which Professor Farooqi (Twitter) translated, Adventures of Amir Hamza: Lord of the Auspicious Planetary Conjuction.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Review: Ramadan by Suhaib Hamid Ghazi

Ghazi, Suhaib Hamid and Rayyan, Omar (illustrator). Ramadan. New York, NY: Holiday House, 1996. Hardcover. ISBN 0-8234-1254-7.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Review: Falcons on the Floor by Justin Sirois

Sirois, Justin. Falcons on the floor. Baltimore, Maryland: Publishing Genius Press, 2012. ISBN 978-0-9831706-4-8. Softcover, 264 pp.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Support Herstory Egypt: Words of Women from the Egyptian Revolution

Leil-Zahra Mortada (Twitter) is the director of a YouTube series called Herstory Egypt: Words of Wisdom from the Egyptian Revolution. I've sent in a donation to support it using Indiegogo.

Please support this project by watching the videos, helping translate them into different languages and spreading the word.

And, yes, I know that Leil-Zahra Mortada is "feminist, queer, Arab and anarchist." So?

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Review: Dry: Life Without Water by Ehsan Masood and Daniel Schaffer

Masood E, Schaffer D, editors. Dry: life without water. Cambridge, Massachusetts and London: Harvard University Press: 2006. ISBN: 0-674-02224-6. 192 pp. Illustrated.

I very much enjoyed the profiles Ehsan Masood and Daniel Schaffer provide of the efforts of peoples around the world to live in arid environments. The editors included a bibliography of additional resources, which I've transformed more or less into a Delicious stack.

Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson

The New York Times reviewed Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson (Twitter). I have not read the book.

Support 4th Studio Album by British Afghan musician Yusuf 'Yoshi' Misdaq

"If You Ask Me, Yes" by Yusuf 'Yoshi' Misdaq (blog) has a Kickstarter project to collect donations for its completion. Hena Ashraf (Twitter) urges people to support it. Hena's work has appeared in this blog several times.

Sunday, July 08, 2012

Saturday, June 30, 2012

Review: Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Manning Marable

I listened to the reading of Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Manning Marable, who passed away at almost the same time the book was published. Here are a few thoughts:

Islamic Art: Mirror of the Invisible to appear on PBS Jul 6

Islamic Art: Mirror of the Invisible (Twitter) is a Unity Production Foundations (Twitter) production.

It is scheduled to air on Public Broadcasting Stations July 6. My South Carolina station airs it at 22:00. I have yet to find out when the Georgia station will broadcast it. I've contacted the station to ask when it is scheduled for broadcast. (update July 2, see P.S.)

Two reviews: Islamic Art Blog and Muslim Oasis.

Here's some bonus footage off the PBS web site:



P.S.Georgia Public Broadcasting does not have a scheduled broadcasting date. Please consider contacting the station and Tweeting (message pre-configured) to inquire why it is not scheduled for broadcast.
P.P.S. (July 3)  An employee of GPB talked to me by phone and told me GPB was not broadcasting the arts series. I spoke to the film's producer. He said that the Islamic Art film is part of a 7 night PBS arts series. PBS is providing all stations an 'evergreen' version of Mirror of the Invisible that does not mention the arts series. Thus, it can be shown independent of that series.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Android & iOS App to Introduce Arabic Alphabet

Media Plus launches “My Arabic Letters – أحرفي العربية” kids App. On iTunes & Android markets

I liked it, and it's free, and your kids can play it while you're waiting at the doctor's office, airport, etc.

Correction: Android version free, iOS version is 0.99 USD.

Friday, June 15, 2012

Send Jennifer & I Heart Hamas to the Edinburgh Fringe Fest!


I've supported this project with a pledge. I hope you consider supporting it as well!

Note: The video embedded above seems to display well in Chrome but not Firefox or IE. So follow this link.

Listen to Ahmad Bedier & Samar Jarrah's Weekly Radio Show

Ahmed Bedier (@Bedier) and Samar Dahmash Jarrah (@ArabVoicesSpeak) host a talk show weekly on True Talk on Tampa, Florida community radio station WMNF 88.5 FM.

If you are not in range, you can download the shows to your computer. The URL for the podcast feed is http://feeds.feedburner.com/truetalk. In iTunes, paste this URL into Advance --> Subscribe to Podcast. You can also use other RSS readers.

You can also listen to the show live on your mobile device or even by calling a US phone number.

Encourage them by sending a Tweet, e-mail or a donation!

Saturday, June 02, 2012

Selected Islamic Wisdoms Seeks Support for Completion

h/t E-baad E-News

The web site FracturedAtlas collects donations for the completion of artistic projects. I've donated for the purpose of completing Selected Islamic Wisdoms.

Note to publisher or editor or translator: Isn't Selected Islamic Aphorisms a better title?

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Review: Tahmima Amam: The Good Muslim

Sarah Farrukh wrote a review of Tahmima Anam's The Good Muslim. I have not read the book.

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Review: The Cave by Uthman Hutchinson

Uthman Hutchinson has written numerous books for Muslim children.

The Islamic Foundation of North America, Inc summarized this book.

The first story has an anti-war message, although it probably simplifies, in retrospect, the Afghan rebellion against its Communist government. The second story has a good message of gender equality, or at least an expansion of the spheres in which Muslim women can participate as equals.

I have not been able to find an outlet which sells this book.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Fantasy Academy in Iran

Fantasy Academy is an Iranian science fiction and fantasy club devoted to promoting SF/F.  Read more at The World SF blog.

Monday, March 12, 2012

Review: Teach Us to Live: Stories from Hiroshima and Nagasaki

Teach Us to Live: Stories from Hiroshima and Nagasaki Listen to the CD accompanying this book with the recordings of translated testimonies of survivors of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I hope no Muslim ever uses the term "Islamic bomb." There's nothing "Islamic" about the bomb, and we should work towards complete nuclear disarmament.

P.S. If you get a chance, watch David Rothauser's Hibakusha, Our Life to Live.

Sunday, March 04, 2012

Matt Ruff's The Mirage Sounds Like a Good Read

The Mirage If you amalgamated the methodical, punctilious, world-building skills of Ian McDonald (“The Dervish House”) with the reality-distortion powers of Philip K. Dick (“The Man in the High Castle”) and then folded in the satirical, take-no-prisoners savagery of Norman Spinrad (“The Iron Dream”), you might very well be able to produce a book approximating Matt Ruff’s “The Mirage” — God willing, as Ruff’s characters are continually cautioning.
Read more ...

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Review: Addicted to War: Why the U.S. Can't Kick Militarism by Joel Andreas

Addicted to War: Why the U.S. Can't Kick Militarism
The peace groups in which I participate distribute this book. It's an easy read which introduces most of the basic premises of the U.S. peace movements. Most residents of the United States will not know the basic facts introduced in this book. It also contains a directory of national peace organizations and a list of references for those who want to take the next step in advocating for peace.

At its website, you can read the book for free online and order printed copies.

Review: The Invisible Arab: The Promise and Peril of the Arab Revolution

Marwan Bishara, a political analyst for Al-Jazeera satellite news network, wrote an Arab-nationalist perspective essay about the ongoing revolutions in North Africa and Southwest Asia.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Media for the Deaf and Blind

Do our masajid practice ableism? In my practice of Islam, I think being deaf would be one of the greatest barriers to performing religious rituals such as hearing and reciting the Qur'an and listening to the Jumu`a khutba. Some Muslims are striving to provide services to the blind and deaf:

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Ordered: Falcons on the Floor by Justin Sirois

I just ordered Falcons on the Floor, a novel by Justin Sirois about the people of Fallujah and Ramadi in Iraq.

Justin blogs. Also, check out The Understanding Campaign, which Justin promotes.

Update August 13, 2012: I read it and reviewed it.